top of page

Reflections from graduated student Renta

I would like to thank you all for supporting me during my master program; specifically, I greatly appreciate Prof. Huang’s help during supervision, so I could accomplish my thesis. For me, writing a thesis is quite challenging, especially due to many rules of academic writing needed to follow. During my thesis writing, I suffered from many challenges, such as my sickness, time constraint, and lack of spirit. Sometimes I stuck and got stress when writing my thesis. All I did was to put this thesis away from me, but I was aware that I would not finish my master’s degree if I did not keep going.

When I faced this condition, I tried to encourage myself by doing something I liked, like listening to the music or going somewhere to refresh my brain (to the sea for example).

To finish your thesis, you first need to have internal motivation; don’t expect your advisor or friends to finish it for you. You yourself have to work hard on it. Don’t lose your motivation, guys. Otherwise, you will never finish your study.

You also need to write down your own schedule. Like me, I promised myself that I had to have something to discuss with Prof. Huang at least once a week. I tried to keep on track. If I could not make it, I informed Prof. Huang the days before, and sent my revision by email before the next meeting.

Also, I suggest you guys to read a lot about academic writing. When I wrote my thesis, I learned a lot about how to write each section of thesis. I read Prof. Huang’s handouts that I got when I took her academic writing class.

You also need to read a lot of journals and learned how the researchers structured their writings. These ways helped me a lot during my thesis writing. I hope you all can finish your thesis as soon as possible. Keep spirit guys.

YOU CAN DO IT. Good luck

bottom of page